Party on, Mr. Raven

I have always wanted to make an ATC with Edgar Allen Poe’s image, so when my VPI ATCs group posted this swap, I came up with this one. I found an image of Poe on the web and printed it on a transparency (hence, the glare in the photo!). I could have added the famous opening line to the poem in Photoshop, but I have this great Red Lead stamp that I wanted to use. However, inking up just a portion of the stamp with the corner of my StazOn pad wasn’t working, so I came up with this plan of attack:

I simply used my StazOn reinker to douse the tip of a Tsukineko fantastix brush, and I was able to dab just the text of my stamp without touching any rubber from adjoining images. I used very little ink, so I didn’t care if it dried out. Even so, the ink stayed moist for a couple of days. I marked my tool so I can reuse it in the future.

The background paper (and crow) is from Digital Collage Sheets.Com. I used my Martha Stewart scary branch punch in the corners, and edged the whole thing with some Tim Holtz tissue tape (I promised myself I would not hoard this). The edges were inked with Black Soot Distress Ink (Ranger), and I added a strip of German scrap along with miscellaneous bling on the bird’s hat.

4 thoughts on “Party on, Mr. Raven

  1. Jan… I am glad I am stalking your blog! Such lovely work!
    Thanks for the ideas too- I have often what i’d use the fantastix for. Another thing you can use to mask is scotch tape. Stick it on the image you want to hide or mask, stamp into ink and pull off the tape before inking. Like you, I have a tendency to hoard. And I havn’t let myself buy some Tim Holtz tissue tape.

Leave a Reply

